Protecting Data: International Security Standards for Effective Risk Management

International Security Standards

Companies collect, store and process huge amounts of data today, including intellectual property, financial records and communication records. This information can be vulnerable to hackers and can create significant business risks.

Achieving compliance with international security standards provides several benefits for your company. It can save you money and improve IT productivity. It can also build trust with your international partners.

BS ISO/IEC 27035

The BS ISO/IEC 27035 is an international standard that provides guidelines for managing information security incidents. Its contents include processes for preparing for, detecting, reporting, assessing, and responding to information security incidents. It also outlines lessons learned. The 27035 standard is a part of the ISO 27000 family of standards, and it is useful for organizations of all sizes.

The ISO 27000 series of standards focuses on building and controlling an Information Security Management System (ISMS). An ISMS is an integrated set of processes, technologies, people, partners, and policies that help protect sensitive data and ensure business continuity. Many organizations use the 27000 standards to certify their ISMS.

Taking an ISO/IEC 27035 Foundation training course will provide you with a thorough understanding of how to plan and prepare for information security incidents. In addition, you will learn how to identify and classify incident types. Additionally, you will acquire the skills necessary to draft an incident response policy.

BS ISO/IEC 27036

The BS ISO/IEC 27036-3:2023 standard contains guidelines for managing cybersecurity risks in supplier relationships. It applies to both public and private organizations. This standard is recognized worldwide and can help you protect your organization from cyber threats. This standard is part of the ISO 27000 family of standards and provides a framework for improving practices in developing Information Security Management Systems (ISMS).

It outlines how to manage the risk of IT suppliers by defining, implementing, monitoring, reviewing, sustaining, and enhancing acquirer and supplier relationships. It also includes the requirements for assessing IT security risk and providing assurance to the acquirer. However, it is important to note that this standard is not intended for certification purposes. This is because SMEs interpret the information security requirements differently, depending on their own perspective and understanding. This may affect the effectiveness of the implementation of these standards. This means that there is a need for clear and detailed implementation guidelines.

BS ISO/IEC 62443

The ISA 62443 series of standards provides a comprehensive framework for addressing the security of industrial control systems (ICS) and operational technology (OT). By focusing on risk assessment, these standards ensure that organizations are properly evaluating potential vulnerabilities and implementing preventive countermeasures. They also help lower mitigation costs by providing a turnkey resource that can be used to supplement existing security programs or create new ones.

The standard outlines cybersecurity technical requirements for components that make up an IACS, including network equipment, computer hardware, and control devices. It also specifies a product development life cycle and defines secure features, such as coding guidelines. It includes a requirement to ensure that all security-related issues are received, reviewed and tracked through closure.

IEC 62443 also helps identify and address cyber threats by defining zones and conduits. These help reduce the overall attack surface and provide resistance to exploitation by limiting the number of possible points of entry into an OT network.

BS ISO/IEC 27001

BS ISO/IEC 27001 is a standard for the Information Security Management System, a set of policies and procedures that help organizations protect their data. It was developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), with help from the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). Its 2022 version is widely accepted and used by businesses of all sizes and industries. To get certified, an organization must have its ISMS audited by an accredited body. This process can be costly, so few companies undertake it.

The core of an ISMS is a risk assessment. This process helps identify the information risks and determine which controls are appropriate to reduce them. The ISMS must include routine risk assessments and a system for documenting, monitoring, appraising, maintaining, and improving the ISMS. A common approach is to use a catalogue, framework or reference for these controls such as NIST SP800-53, the ISF standard, COBIT, or custom approaches. The IT department is often the main user of these catalogues or references, but they are not mandatory for all organisations.

Return to the home screen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *